Babar Azam extends his congratulations to Australia on their sixth World Cricket Championship win

Babar Azam has congratulated Australia

Former captain of the national team Babar Azam has congratulated Australia for becoming the world champion of cricket for the sixth time. Babar Azam wrote in his story on the social networking platform Instagram, “Congratulations to Australia, what a commanding performance in the final.

India’s target of 241 runs was set by Australia at the loss of 4 wickets in the final of the ICC World Cup 2023 played at the Narendra Modi Cricket Stadium in Ahmedabad. Australia has become the most 6-time champion team in the history of the Cricket World Cup, having previously won the title in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015.

Australia faced difficulties in chasing the target and got 3 out for just 47 runs.

David Warner and Travis Head opened Australia’s innings. Australia’s first wicket fell for just 16 runs when David Warner was dismissed for just 7 runs. On a total score of 41, the Kangaroos suffered their second loss in the form of Mitchell Marsh who was caught behind the wickets after scoring 15 runs. Steve Smith also got out by scoring 4 runs on a total score of 47.

Travis Head scored a brilliant century off 95 balls while Marnos Labushin scored a half-century. Earlier in the World Cup final, India had given Australia a target of 241 runs to win. In the match being played at the Narendra Modi Cricket Stadium in Ahmedabad, Indian team opener Shibman Gul failed to give the team an aggressive start in the final of the mega event, he returned to the pavilion after scoring just 4 runs.

Captain Rohit Sharma scored 47 while Virat Kohli scored 54 runs. Middle-order batsman KL Rahul played a defiant innings of 66 runs. Among the other players, Shreyas Iyer 4, Ravindra Jadeja 9, and Mohammad Shami 6 runs proved to be guests. Surya Kumar Yadav scored 18 runs, Jasprit Bumra scored one run, Kuldeep Yadav scored 10 runs and Mohammad Siraj scored 9 runs. The Indian team got out after scoring 240 runs in the allotted overs.

Australia’s Mitchell Starc took 3 wickets, Josh Hazlewood and Pete Cummins dismissed 2 each while Adam Zampa and Glenn Maxwell got one wicket each. Earlier, Australian team captain Pete Cummins won the toss and decided to field first.

On this occasion, Indian team captain Rohit Sharma said that today is an opportunity to repeat history and will try to win the title. The captains of both teams say that no changes have been made in the playing XI. Australia’s squad consists of captain Pat Cummins, David Warner, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Marence Lebuschagne, Josh Inglis, Marence Labuchin, Sean Abbott, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood while India’s squad captain Rohit Sharma, Shibman Gill , consisting of Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammad Siraj.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *