Double Champions: Unveiling the Most Successful Teams in the Pakistan Super League

the Most Successful Teams in the Pakistan Super League

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) has become a breeding ground for both intense rivalries and undeniable dominance. While all six franchises aim for the coveted trophy each season, only a select few have tasted multiple victories. Amongst these elite teams, Islamabad United and Lahore Qalandars stand tall with two PSL championships each. However, Islamabad United has a unique distinction – they hold bragging rights as the winners of the first-ever PSL tournament and then went on to claim victory again in the league’s third edition. This solidifies Islamabad United’s legacy as early pioneers and consistent contenders within the fiercely competitive world of the PSL.

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) has enthralled cricket fans worldwide since its inception in 2016. The high-octane T20 tournament boasts passionate supporters, world-class talents, and intense competition. But amongst the six franchises vying for glory, two teams stand out as the most successful – Islamabad United and Lahore Qalandars, each having secured two PSL titles.

Islamabad United: Pioneering Champions

Islamabad United etched their name in PSL history by claiming the inaugural trophy in 2016 under the leadership of legendary cricketer Misbah-ul-Haq. Their aggressive batting lineup, featuring the likes of Sharjeel Khan and Shane Watson, coupled with a potent bowling attack comprising Mohammad Sami and Rumman Raees, proved to be a winning formula. They repeated their success in 2018, showcasing their resilience and adaptability.

Lahore Qalandars: From Underdogs to Back-to-Back Champions

The Lahore Qalandars, once considered underdogs, have undergone a remarkable transformation. Under the inspiring captaincy of Shaheen Shah Afridi, they lifted their first PSL title in 2022, defying expectations and displaying exceptional bowling prowess. Their triumph in 2023 further cemented their dominance, making them the only team to successfully defend their PSL crown.

A Look at the Other Contenders

While Islamabad United and Lahore Qalandars have established themselves as the most successful teams, the other four franchises – Karachi Kings, Quetta Gladiators, Peshawar Zalmi, and Multan Sultans – have also showcased their potential, each securing one PSL title.

  • Karachi Kings: Champions in 2020, led by the explosive Babar Azam.
  • Quetta Gladiators: The inaugural champions in 2016 and victors again in 2019, with Shane Watson playing a pivotal role.
  • Peshawar Zalmi: Champions in 2017, boasting a well-rounded squad under the leadership of Darren Sammy.
  • Multan Sultans: Their solitary triumph came in 2021, with Mohammad Rizwan leading the charge.

The Road Ahead: A Competitive Landscape

The PSL’s competitive landscape ensures that predicting future champions remains a thrilling challenge. With each team constantly evolving and acquiring top international talent, the battle for supremacy promises to be as exciting as ever.


Islamabad United and Lahore Qalandars currently reign supreme as the most successful teams in PSL history, with two titles each. However, the hunger for glory burns brightly amongst all six franchises, ensuring that the fight for the coveted PSL trophy will continue to enthrall fans for years to come.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *