Pakistan announces squad for two-Test series against Sri Lanka Shaheen Shah Afridi returns to squad

Pakistan announces squad for two-Test series against Sri Lanka Shaheen Shah Afridi returns to squad

The Pakistani squad for the two-Test series starting next month has been announced. Shaheen Shah Afridi has been included in the squad, along with newcomers Huraira and Ahmed Jamal has also been included in the team. This is the first Test series for both of them. 

Afridi played his last Test match in July 2022 against Sri Lanka in Galle, during which he was sidelined from Test cricket due to injury.He is currently participating in the T20 Blast in England, speaking to the media. Afridi said It was very difficult for me to stay away from Test cricket.

Muhammad Huraira

The 21-year-old Harira was included in the national squad for his outstanding performance in domestic cricket. In the last two seasons, he has been the top scorer of Pakistan’s domestic season, during which he also scored a triple century. After Javed Miandad he is the 2nd youngest player to score a triple century, he scored 2252 runs at an average of 68.

Ahmed Jamal

Ahmed Jamal was the best bowler of the 2022-23 domestic season in Pakistan. He took 31 wickets at an average of 29.00.In his last match, Ahmed Jamal took five wickets while playing against Zimbabwe selectors. Ahmed jamal made his T20 debut against England where he successfully defended 14 runs in the last over against England in Pakistan’s win. 

The Pakistani squad includes four spinners four fast bowlers six batsmen and two wicket keepers including sarfraz ahmed. Talking to the media Pakistan’s Chief select Haroon Rasheed said finger spinners have always been successful in Sri Lanka and because of the spin tracks, more spinners have been added to the squad, we do not underestimate the importance of fast bowlers, that’s why we have kept our fast bowling  department strong, we have also provided a strong batting line-up.There are players who could not be part of the squad. They don’t need to be disappointed; they are among our plans. 

Pakistan Squad

Pakistani Squad includes:-

Babar Azam (capt), 

Mohammad Rizwan (vice-capt, wk)

Aamer Jamal

Abdullah Shafique 

Abrar Ahmed 

Hasan Ali


Mohammad Hurraira

Mohammad Nawaz

Naseem Shah

Noman Ali

Agha Salman

Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)

Saud Shakeel,

Shaheen Shah Afridi

 Shan Masood

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *