Pakistan Dominates ICC Awards


Good and bad days are part of life. There was a time when Pakistan was under threat from terrorism and not a single team was ready to visit Pakistan. That is the reason Pakistan made its home ground out of the country i.e UAE. Pakistan is a country full of talent that is why Pakistan won the T20-Twenty World Cup-2009 and the Champions Trophy 2017 in England. Pakistani Cricketers has proved themselves at International Level. ICC has recognized its achievements. Recently ICC has announced Test, One day, and T-20 Cricketer and Teams of the year, Pakistan Dominates ICC Awards. Pakistani cricketers were selected in all these formats and Babar Azam was also nominated in ICC One day and T-20 Teams of the Year 2021. ICC has also announced Test, One day, and T-20 Cricketer of the year. Pakistani Cricketers Dominated ICC Cricket Awards 2021. Muhammad Rizwan Declared T-20 Cricketer of the year, Babar Azam One-day Cricketer of the year, Shaheen Shah Afridi ICC Cricketer of the year, and Fatima Emerging women cricketer of the year 2021.

ICC Cricketer of the year 2021

Source PCB

Shaheen Shah Afridi won the ICC Cricketer of the year award. Shaheen Shah Afridi is the first Pakistani cricketer to win the award. For this award shaheen shah was nominated with Joye Rote from England Cane Williamson from New Zealand and Muhammad Rizwan from Pakistan. Shaheen Shah Afridi’s performance for this year in all formats is as under which won this award. In ODI’s he took 78 wickets in 36 matches with a bowling average of 22.20 and the Best figure of 51/6. In T-20 he took 23 wickets including Worldcup in 21 Matches and in Test matches he took 47 wickets in 09 Test matches with an average of 17.Talking to the Media Shaheen Shah Afridi said that the year 2021 was best for him and his team which won him this award and he believes in the coming days they will perform better. He said his performance against India in T-20 Worldcup was most memorable.

ICC T-20 Cricketer of the year 2021

Source PCB

Muhammad Rizwan who won PCB Cricketer of the year 2021 was also declared ICC T-20 Cricketer of the year where he was nominated with other Cricketers like Jose Buttler from England, Hassan Rangar from Srilanka, and Mitchels Marsh from Australia. Muhammad Rizwan Scored 1326 in 29 T-20 Internationals with an average of 73.66 and a Strike rate of 134.89. As a wicketkeeper, he took 22 wickets. He also becomes the first batsman in T-20 cricket to score more than 1000 runs in a calendar year. 

ICC One-Day Cricketer of the year 2021

Source PCB

Pakistan’s captain Babar Azam declared One day Cricketer of the year. Babar Azam was nominated along with Shakib Ul Hassan from Banglades, Janneman Malan from South Africa, and Paul Starling From Ireland. Babar Azam was declared one day cricketer of the year by ICC. He scored 405 runs at an average of 67 in 06 one-day international matches. 158 runs against England was his top performance during the year. Talking to media through a video link Babar Azam thanked PCB, his fans, and other people who supported him throughout his career. Babar Azam was also nominated as Captain of ICC one day of the year.

ICC Women Emerging Cricketer of the year 2021

Source PCB

Fatima Sana was announced women’s emerging player of the year. For the first time in history, a Pakistani women cricketer won the ICC award. Fatima Sana took 24 wickets at an average of 20 during the year with a 5 wickets performance. Fatima Sana Thanked Allah and then PCB, coaching staff and her supporters for this achievement. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *